Body fitting suicide doors to a beetle? - VW Forum - VZi, Europe's largest VW, community and sales

Go Back   VW Forum - VZi, Europe's largest VW, community and sales > Tech Forums > Aircooled Mechanical Tech

Aircooled Mechanical Tech A Q & A Forum devoted to Aircooled Mechanical Issues. Got a problem? Then ask in here. Please, no 'For Sale' or 'Want To Buy' ads, plugs for your 'business', links to 'for sale' ads or Ebay links to your (or your mate's) auction (use the VZi 'Classifieds' section) - this also includes thinly veiled 'What's My Car Worth?' threads and "Who Can Sell Me A . . ." posts.

Machine 7, high quality air-cooled  restoration and performance parts
Reply Post New Thread

Old 18-01-2009, 08:47 PM   #1
Bugsy_Malone 666
Nom Nom Nom

VZi Member Sponsor

Trading feedback: (7)

Default fitting suicide doors to a beetle?

So as I'm gearing up to try and crack on with my 1302s custom project I have been working on for a few years now, I have decided I need more custom to go with it, namely suicide doors!

basically I spent lots of time getting the doors all fitted to stock hinge locations with new door posts etc and now I have decided it needs a change. I am going to be using mazda MX5 door handles too!

So has anyone done suicide doors themselves? any pointers/links/pictures?

if possible I want to have hidden hinges so I have a nice flush look.

...One day I'll finish it all.
Bugsy_Malone 666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2009, 08:56 PM   #2
1972 Mellow Yellow
I'm not an addict... honest!

Trading feedback: (0)

Rather than suicide doors, hinge it from the roof and have them open upwards!

It will be easier and it will look super cool!

http://www.volkszone.com/VZi/member.php?u=45434
1972 Mellow Yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2009, 09:05 PM   #3
Forsh

Trading feedback: (1)

why not do Lambo door for that Max Power look

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/LAMBO-STYLE-VE...|39:1|240:1318

Forsh is offline   Reply With Quote