Engine MK1 gti temp gauge on dash not working? - VW Forum - VZi, Europe's largest VW, community and sales
 


     
 

Go Back   VW Forum - VZi, Europe's largest VW, community and sales > Tech Forums > Watercooled Mechanical Tech

Watercooled Mechanical Tech A Q & A Forum devoted to Watercooled Mechanical Issues. Golfs, Sciroccos, Polos, T4s, T5s etc. You know the score, got a problem? Ask here. Please, no 'For Sale' or 'Want To Buy' ads, plugs for your 'business', links to 'for sale' ads or Ebay links to your (or your mate's) auction (use the VZi 'Classifieds' section) - this also includes thinly veiled 'What's My Car Worth?' threads and "Who Can Sell Me A . . ." posts.
Forum Sponsored by: www.CoastVW.co.uk Classic Volkswagen Services

Coast VW

Machine 7, high quality air-cooled  restoration and performance parts
Reply Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-09-2010, 09:58 AM   #1
barnwall
Chat Virgin
 
barnwall's Avatar

Trading feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Emereld isle of Ireland
Posts: 10
Default MK1 gti temp gauge on dash not working?

Hi,

A while back my coolant temp gauge on the dash of my golf mk1 started acting a little funny.

Firstly the red light would flash for a couple of minutes and then go back off.

About a week later then the needle seemed to indicate the coolant was not at a high enough temperature.

And then the needle failed to give any reading at all.

I have checked the whole cooling system during this and everything was working properly.

Coolant levels were good, circulation was fine, water pump good, fan worded correclty. Everything seemed fine and the car was not overheating.

This led me to believe that is was a sender fault.

But before I sourced this I put in a new thermostat. (didn't help)

Just this weekend I put in a new sender after days of tracking down the part.

I was sure this was the problem. But there is still no reading.

Just to be safe I have since put in a new rad and rad fan & motor.

So what could it be??

Perhaps the gauge in the dash needs to be replaced?

And thoughts on this much appreciated.

Thanks,

Richard
barnwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2010, 01:54 PM   #2
k_wyndham_t
Chat Slapper
 
k_wyndham_t's Avatar

Trading feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Exeter, Devon
Posts: 58
Default

I had same fault on MK2 polo I changed the instrament binecle for another reason and it went away, assume gauge or more likely that horible plastic circuit board was at fault.
k_wyndham_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2010, 07:44 PM   #3
bug.mania
I'm not an addict... honest!
 
bug.mania's Avatar

Trading feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: bishops stortford
Posts: 4,113
Default

failing that change the temp senders on the engine they should be on the block on a plastic or metal flange, im unsure what colour does what ring vw and they can get them for about 13 iirc
__________________
'75 late bay - needs tlc
'72 Baja - needs finishing
'14 UP! - nothing to do!!
bug.mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 12:34 PM   #4
barnwall
Chat Virgin
 
barnwall's Avatar

Trading feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Emereld isle of Ireland
Posts: 10
Thumbs up Replacement gauge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bug.mania View Post
failing that change the temp senders on the engine they should be on the block on a plastic or metal flange, im unsure what colour does what ring vw and they can get them for about 13 iirc

Thanks,

I think removing the binecle is next on the list.

I have already changed the temp sender in the engine (unfortunately it was more like 100 euro rather than 13 pounds :/)

I was sure this would fix the problem but alas I will have to get my hands on the fiddly bits on the dash...sigh...

Any suggestions for finding a replacement gauge?

Thanks
barnwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 07:25 PM   #5
BORISTHEBLADE
Wannabe Chat Slut
 
BORISTHEBLADE's Avatar

Trading feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Margate KENT
Posts: 887
Default

earth the wire for the coolant temp gauge that goes to the sender, if the gauge moves all the way to the top then it is not faulty, if it does not it could be a wiring issue, check for continuity from dash loom to sender unit before stripping the dashboard.
__________________
Drive it like you stole it
BORISTHEBLADE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply Post New Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
coolant, golf, gti, mk1, tempertaure


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Disclaimer: For recreational purposes only, some assembly required. Any resemblance to real persons,
living or dead is purely intentional and the site admins are not responsible for direct, indirect,
incidental or consequential ridicule resulting from any defect or failure to perform. No animals
were harmed in the creation of this forum. Colours may fade over time. No other warranty expressed or implied.

volkszone.com

SupportingSupporting Brad's Cancer Foundation

 
 
© Volkszone • Terms and Conditions of use