ADT Alarm battery help - VW Forum - VZi, Europe's largest VW, community and sales
 


     
 

Go Back   VW Forum - VZi, Europe's largest VW, community and sales > Tech Forums > Engineering Tech

Engineering Tech A Q & A Forum devoted to Engineering Issues that don't necessarily fall into Aircooled or Watercooled Tech. Got a problem? Or an engineering question? Even a buildings or property engineering question? Then ask in here. Please, no 'For Sale' or 'Want To Buy' ads, plugs for your 'business', links to 'for sale' ads or Ebay links to your (or your mate's) auction (use the VZi 'Classifieds' section) - this also includes thinly veiled 'What's My Car Worth?' threads and "Who Can Sell Me A . . ." posts.

Reply Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2019, 10:44 AM   #1
noms2000
Wannabe Chat Slut
 
noms2000's Avatar

Trading feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Neutral Zone
Posts: 564
Default ADT Alarm battery help

I have an ADT alarm, had it for around 15 years, never any issues. I'm out of contract with them, so it's 'bells only'.

It's an old Honeywell Galaxy wired system. A couple of days ago, the following message came up on the console: "+BAT MIS 0001".
Having checked online, this means the back up battery needs replacing, which after 15 years, doesn't seem too bad.
Question: Is this something I can do myself? The console is also asking for the Master code, what could that be?

ADT will charge over 200+VAT (plus 90 per hour) for a call out, which I can't really afford. Is it possible to find an engineer that'll do work 'on the side'?


Thanks in advance
__________________
Watches, Women and VW's... The 3 best things in life.

Keepin' It Aircooled...

Noms

Last edited by noms2000; 07-10-2019 at 10:45 AM.. Reason: spelling
noms2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 11:05 AM   #2
Sol Ford
Help! I'm trapped in here
 
Sol Ford's Avatar

VZi Member Sponsor

Trading feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Prestwich/Manchester.
Posts: 14,498
Default

A replacement battery is about 10 and should be a couple of spades on the terminals.

The master code will be something along the lines of 5555 or 0000, a search online will probably bring it up.

I'd have a go myself, it's not like you can make it worse.
Sol Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 06:39 PM   #3
slartybartfast
Seasoned Chat Slut
 
slartybartfast's Avatar

Trading feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: outer scouse land !Wirral
Posts: 1,321
Default

Just replace the batteries and again google the codes ,I google codes all the time for work .there all there.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
__________________
"What you see when you havn't got your Gun! pair of 640/15" crossplies small rear small safari, creative polished pop out frames wtd :-)
slartybartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 08-10-2019, 08:49 AM   #4
dubwise
Help! I'm trapped in here
 
dubwise's Avatar

VZi Member Sponsor

Trading feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: south central
Posts: 43,841
Default

we've got the same system at work. battery is simple to replace, open up the panel and you'll see the battery model, order a replacement off ebay or similar. as others have said it's just 2 spade connectors.
not sure on the codes as ours is quite specific, do you not have any documentation with it?
dubwise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 10:28 AM   #5
Sol Ford
Help! I'm trapped in here
 
Sol Ford's Avatar

VZi Member Sponsor

Trading feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Prestwich/Manchester.
Posts: 14,498
Default

Once you've found the code, write it on the inside of the control panel or on the battery, then when you come to do it again, you'll know what it is.
Sol Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 06:34 PM   #6
Big Al
Help! I'm trapped in here
 
Big Al's Avatar

VZi Member Sponsor

Trading feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 20,893
Default

Like Sol says the bat itself is very easy to do. It's stopping the tamper alarm that might be more tricky depending how good your alarm is.
Big Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 06:36 PM   #7
Big Al
Help! I'm trapped in here
 
Big Al's Avatar

VZi Member Sponsor

Trading feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 20,893
Default

Oh and ADT are robbing scum imho. Installed us an alarm at work that never worked properly and wanted paying to come fix it! It was switched off on principal and was never used after that.
Big Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply Post New Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
adt, alarm

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Disclaimer: For recreational purposes only, some assembly required. Any resemblance to real persons,
living or dead is purely intentional and the site admins are not responsible for direct, indirect,
incidental or consequential ridicule resulting from any defect or failure to perform. No animals
were harmed in the creation of this forum. Colours may fade over time. No other warranty expressed or implied.

volkszone.com

SupportingSupporting Brad's Cancer Foundation

 











 
© Volkszone • Terms and Conditions of use