Volkszone Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all, just wondered if anyone could help me really. Im relatively new to the VW scene and currently own 2 campervans, but I am looking to buy a 1303 karmann convertible beetle. is there anything that i should particularly look out for or be aware of? any real disadvantages? as its my first beetle i thought i would get a few opinions... oh, and what is the difference with a 1303?

All help / opinions would be very much appreciated!! cheers

·
Registered
20,431 Posts
I will kick off
Usually rust areas, to include - heater channels and the underfloor strengtheners, Macpherson strut tops, just above rear wings just under hood hinge (can rust from inside out) worn steering gear, hood frame corrosion, hood condition, damaged or split dash plastics.

After that - it is the stuff you are used to on your campers - state of the engine etc.
there are some great 1303 Cabriolets out there for little money - so look around.

What is the difference with a 1303 - err - the roof folds - but I guess you got that
But the strengthening - the doors are filleted, there are big beams under the floor, the crossmember under the rear seat is different, the tunnel to front bulkhead has extra strengthening, the doors and rear quarter panels are unique.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
cheers, that helps... i have been told that the hood skin if fraying so i might need to replace that .. its going for 3.7k, which i thought was a good price..

·
Registered
20,431 Posts
Hood fraying - could be nothing - use gaffer tape for a quick repair - or unfortunatley it could indicate a damaged frame.

3,700 is OK - but take a very good look. Join the Cabrio club - very strong - there are always good 1303 available in the magazine

Where is it? If closeish to Brum I might come and kick a tyre for you

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·