Volkszone Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, just picked up my new 1500 1973 Type 3 Variant :D :D :D
Only problem is that I've never owned an aircooled VW before and am at a bit of a loss of how to look after it and what to look out for :rolleyes:

I'm a qualified mechanic (been out of the trade for a couple of years now though) so know how to use tools etc but my knowledge lies mainly with more modern engine technology (ECUs, sensors, ABS etc etc) I really can't remember the last time I set valve clearances or adjusted a set of carbs!!!!

The square will be my daily driver so I really need to keep it in good running order :D hmmmm..maybe I should have brought something else!!!

I've a few questions and if anyone would like to give me some general advice it would be greatly appreciated :)

1. How often should I service and change the oil in my square?? (Whats the best oil??)

2. Is there anything specific that I should pay particular attention to to avoid major engine damage/problems etc

3. Are there any "common problems" that it would be worth my while checking considring that I have just brought the car

4. The brakes are crap - whats a cost effective way to (I have discs on the front)

5. Any other tips greatly appreciated ;)

Thanks

Jay :D

·
Banned
6,339 Posts
jgtr said:
Hi all, just picked up my new 1500 1973 Type 3 Variant :D :D :D
Only problem is that I've never owned an aircooled VW before and am at a bit of a loss of how to look after it and what to look out for :rolleyes:

I'm a qualified mechanic (been out of the trade for a couple of years now though) so know how to use tools etc but my knowledge lies mainly with more modern engine technology (ECUs, sensors, ABS etc etc) I really can't remember the last time I set valve clearances or adjusted a set of carbs!!!!