Volkszone Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bit of advice really......my engine seemed to be running sweet until I started playing with it and wondered would these three simple things make a difference.

Changed the spark plugs
Changed air filter (pancake for pancake)
The breather on the oil filler was not connected to anything, so thought it would be a good idea to put a bit of thin cotton material over it and attach with a jubilee clip. (to stop the slight oil from spurting onto the fan housing)

Went out again, and oil was chucking out (not alot but from the dipstick i think) and dropping onto the exhaust...appeared alot hotter than normal and stinky oil smell.

Didn't leak before at all!! - Would something as simple as covering the breather increase the the pressure that much to cause the heat and oil leak!

Too scared to go out again

Or is it all coincidence and i'm just good at shagging engines up.

Pleeeese help

·
Registered
3,146 Posts
Would something as simple as covering the breather
An engine needs to breath. If you have restricted the engines breathing the excess crankcase pressure will need to escape some where! I.e the next easiest outlet such as the dipstick.

Remove the cotton material and attach it to you pancake filter somehow. i.e a pipe from the breather to the pancake. The air and any vapour will then be recirculated.

·
Registered
3,146 Posts
Well they arnt really that sensitive but if u take it off and then start your engine. be careful putting ur hands near moving parts but put your hand next to where the oil breather outlet is and rev the engine from the carb. I think you will be surprised at the amount of airflow u will feel!