Volkszone Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
... remove the corrugated tubes (mufflers?) linking the heat exchangers to the heater channels?

Basically I'm a complete novice, but have spent a while searching forums for info regarding 'fumes in the cabin'. I'm fed up with having to take time off work to go to the garage and get things looked at so was thinking of trying to do a bit myself - if I can.

I've got a strong smell of exhaust fumes that has returned after a few weeks (it was fixed for a bit) when I lever the rear flaps open on my heat controls.

The problem seems to increase when I rev the engine and on acceleration.
...should this happen? i.e. the flow of hot air increases in tandem with increased acceleration?

...so from trawling a number of threads on the topic, I've come to the conclusion to check out for any holes underneath and in the flexible heat mufflers, and to temporarily fix the problem, detach the mufflers and take them out completely to stop any fumes coming into the car.

Can anyone suggest how I do this and is it safe.

Thanks
Dom

·
Superhero
5,653 Posts
airflow will increase with higher engine speed as the fan is on the back of the dynamo.

no problem removing the pipes, but you'll have no heat. Have a look, can't remember if its a hose clip of some kind, but they are fairly easy to remove.

fumes from the heating is likely to be oily heat exchangers. If its actually exhaust fumes then you need to get the exhaust fixed.

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
cheers Rich.
I do think its exhaust fumes as I don't feel too hot after driving more than 10 minutes. But at the mo I just need a temporary stop gap for a month or so.

Do you remove the heat mufflers from underneath the rear wheel arch?

·
Registered
7,517 Posts
Dom74 said: