Volkszone Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I feel a bit dim asking this, but I am new to the VW scene, Im only 16, I have just bought this 74 Beetle for £100, im not picking it up until sunday. Yesterday I took a few pictures, it was pouring down with rain and going dark so the pictures arent very good, but upon looking at a photo of the engine, it seems to me like something is missing, I think it may be the air cleaner but im not sure. Also is there anything else you can tell me about this engine? All I know is that it doesnt run but it turns over, and its a 1200.

Thank you for any help you can give me :)

(sorry for the shocking state of the photo)

·
Registered
453 Posts
yer its deffo the air filter missing thereis real badcorrosion all ova has the boot lid been off for ages?? u might wanna looki into the carb cos it looks corroded from the pic and if its all corroded and shittiy i dontthink that will do ure motor much good when u get it i would cover the carbs or put an air filter straight on it dude. congrats on getting a bug tho :)

·
Registered
343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks, I dont think the boot lid has been off because when I looked at it it seemed fine. I might have the cooler somewhere in the car coz its got lots of stuff with it, but if not are they expensive?

·
Registered
18,482 Posts
And if it has sat out sans cover, rain probably got
down the manifold into the engine. Lets hope not,
but worth considering.

See the article on my web site: "Why won't my engine start?"
for a step-by-step how-to.

Best luck and welcome to air-cooled world!

Speedy Jim
http://www.nls.net/mp/volks/

·
Registered
4,036 Posts
It's not a 1200 - it's at least a 1300. The intake manifold is 'twin-port' - the 1200 was single. (aluminium banana shaped pieces either side).

·
Registered
343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·