·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just checking that I have this right!

Plugs 0.7mm
Valves 0.15mm COLD.
Points - mine are electronic
Timing 7.5 BTDC static. If I can't do static due to electronic points, then it should be at 7.5 notch with vac pipe off and blocked.

My dizzy is stock vacuum only advance type.

Cheers.

·
Registered
232 Posts
You can't time electronic ignition statically and it is not good trying to time it at idle. The ONLY safe way to time an aircooled VW engine is to use a timing gun to get around 28 to 30 degrees BTDC at 3000+rpm with vac ports blocked. Why? Because it is the only way you can check that your advance mech is working properly at the engine revs your vehicle uses when it is doing most work. I've been advising this for over 40 years because I have seen too many statically-timed engines cooked due to advance mech failure. This is especially important at a time when so many engines are running cheap Chinese dizzies with poorly built advance mechanisms.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
You can't time electronic ignition statically and it is not good trying to time it at idle. The ONLY safe way to time an aircooled VW engine is to use a timing gun to get around 28 to 30 degrees BTDC at 3000+rpm with vac ports blocked. Why? Because it is the only way you can check that your advance mech is working properly at the engine revs your vehicle uses when it is doing most work. I've been advising this for over 40 years because I have seen too many statically-timed engines cooked due to advance mech failure. This is especially important at a time when so many engines are running cheap Chinese dizzies with poorly built advance mechanisms.
BJ1, thanks for the info.

My dizzy is vacuum only.

My crank pulley has a notch and a dimple.

I think I should set the timing by getting the notch at the case split, with the vacuum pipe off and blocked at the carb, at idle.