Volkszone Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm guna sound like a complete fool here but that's what I am when it comes to engines so I could do with a bit of knowledge :)

I know if you bore out an engine you're making the capacity bigger, but what part of the engine are you increasing? Also, what is stroke and what does it affect?

If you read about engines like 1776cc, 1915cc + are these just original bug engines that have had the bore increased or are they new engines that are based on the original design but made bigger from the start?

If anyone can shed any light it would be much appreciated from this newbie :)

·
Registered
15,060 Posts
I'm pretty new to engines too but I think bore is the piston/barrel diameter and stroke is how far in and out they move. Both factors effect overall engine capacity.

·
Registered
20,445 Posts
Ok - expanding from this
what are the stroke and bore of the common sizes
ie
etc etc

I might have the above wrong - but you know what I mean.

·
Premium Member
8,814 Posts
metric_thumbs said:
Ok - expanding from this
ie
etc etc

There are usually more than one way to skin those cats. Look here for specs of the most common performance engine sizes:
http://www.vwspeedshop.co.uk/pg/cataloguepages.htm

:D

·
I'm not an addict... honest!
4,995 Posts
beatboxPaul said:
I know if you bore out an engine you're making the capacity bigger, but what part of the engine are you increasing? Also, what is stroke and what does it affect?
a watercooled engine for eg in a golf has a cylinder block with a crankshaft at the bottom, the cylinders are in line above it with the pistons in and a cylinder head on top
the capacity of the engine is the volume that the piston moves in the cylinder
the bore is the diameter of the cylinder
the stroke is how far the piston moves up and down and is determined by the crankshaft ( think of the movement of your knee as you pedal a bike)